Activus Transport Contact Us

Our Board

Photo of Graham WareGRAHAM WARE, President

Graham retired from a career spanning forty years with NSW Department of Public Works. He specialised in building construction and maintenance, specification writing, contract supervision, WHS, and supervision of multi trade teams in heritage building and stonework restoration projects.

He has extensive experience in all areas of project management and supervision, and facilities maintenance and has completed training in financial management, HR and IT. He  has been a member since 2007. 

CHRIS BENTLEY, Vice President Chris Bentley

Chris has over 25 years experience in practising law in several senior legal positions within the NSW Public Service including NSW Health where he was Manager, Parliamentary Services, Contract Manager for the Port Macquarie Base Hospital Contract, Director of the Wentworth Area Health Service Quality Unit and Contract Manager for the Hawkesbury District Health Service.
Chris has been an active member on the Boards of Engadine District Community Aid & Information Service, Sutherland Hospital Local Community Advisory Committee and the South Eastern Sydney Illawarra Area Health Service. 
He joined the Board of Activus Transport in 2008 .

Gary RichardsGARY RICHARDS, Treasurer

Gary began his professional career qualifying as a Chartered Accountant (England & Wales)

with Pannell Kerr Forster. He relocated to Canada with this firm where he qualified as a Canadian

Chartered Accountant. Gary made a career change into Management Consulting while in Canada

joining Ernst and Young Consultants.

He accepted an offer to join Price Waterhouse Consultants first locating in Brisbane then Sydney. 

Gary has operated his own Management Consulting practice for the past 20+ years specialising in project directing the planning of health related services and facilities mainly for the NSW Health Department.

Gary is a past President and active member of Rotary Engadine. He joined the Board in July 2015.

Ted AshtonTED ASHTON, Secretary

Ted worked for many years in the building industry culminating in the position of Manager, Quantity and Tenders Branch for the Department of Housing NSW.  Additionally Ted has community links as a member of the Hurstville APEX club for 15 years, currently assisting with the Apex Youth Club movement as a football manager and coach, manager of tennis teams and organiser of Dancesport competitions for youth club members.  He has been on the board for 7 years.


In 2004 Jan was elected to Sutherland Shire Council and was re-elected again in 2008 she became Deputy Mayor in 2010. During her 8 years on Council Jan chaired the Community Services Committee and worked to improve services and facilities to aged care and community centres, upgrades to shopping centres and Surf Clubs and the first Men’s Sheds in the Shire. Jan also served as a member of the Board of Hazelhurst Regional Gallery.

Jan retired as a Councillor in 2012 but has continued to be active in the community serving as a volunteer and Board member with a number of local organisations including Activus Transport and Dunlea (formerly Boystown, Engadine).


Phil started his career as a primary school teacher in Victoria. He then pursued a career with Abbott Australia as a Pharmaceutical Industry Sales and Marketing representative for 20 years.

Phil moved into driver training with Trent Driving School for 4 years followed by over 15 years as a WorkCover accredited OH&S trainer and consultant.

Currently Phil actively contributes to the community as demonstrated by his role as a volunteer driver and Board member for Activus, which he joined in 2014. An active member of the Rotary Club of Caringbah for 35 years, Phil was District Governor in 2000-2001.


Allan was the Managing Director of his family business running oyster farms in the Sutherland Shire area for over 30 years. On selling the business in 1998 he moved into property investment, owning and managing commercial properties across NSW.

During this time Allan has maintained a strong interest in the local community as a volunteer driver before moving onto the Board of Activus where he has remained a strong Board member for over 12 years. His commitment to the community has seen him involved with the local Police & Citizens Youth Club for over 30 years.



Graham retired from the Department of Education after a career spanning more than 40 years. In his retirement Grahame has been an active member of the community with a specific focus on providing opportunities for kids with special needs to play football. Grahame was recognised in 2013 for his commitment when he was named Ruby League Volunteer of the Year. Grahame has held many committee positions for the Engadine Dragons Junior Rugby Club and is a Life Member. He joined the Board of Activus in 2019.

Latest news

All in a days work
Published: Monday 30th November, 2020

All in a Days Work at Activus

Read MoreAll newsEvents calendar
Office Hours: Monday to Friday 8am - 4.30pm